Back

email conversation with carbonize.co.uk webmaster

One day I noticed something odd on carbonize.co.uk's Yahoo! chat client listing page. I could have sworn it once said "Magnesium by the_cpu_fan" but I noticed it was changed to "Magnesium by Jory Pratt". By glancing at the list you'll see a general pattern of [Chat Client] by [Name] and it clearly implies [Chat Client] created by [Name]. I sent out a simple email to carbonize.co.uk webmaster letting him know of the obvious error. At this time I had no idea how or why the change happened.
Received: from [24.168.145.62] by web51001.mail.yahoo.com via HTTP; Thu, 04 Nov 2004 12:17:44 PST
Date: Thu, 4 Nov 2004 12:17:44 -0800 (PST)
From: "sendmegoodspam" <sendmegoodspam@yahoo.com>
Subject: error on your chat client listing page
To: webmaster@carbonize.co.uk
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Content-Length:	446

Your chat client listing page has an error.

http://www.carbonize.co.uk/Yahoo/clients.php

It says "Magnesium by Jory Pratt" but this is not
correct.  The correct author of the Magnesium is Alex
Mercader, also known as the_cpu_fan.  I just think
correct person should get the proper credit.

__________________________________________________
Do You Yahoo!?
Tired of spam?  Yahoo! Mail has the best spam protection around 
http://mail.yahoo.com 
I received a following reply from carbonize.co.uk webmaster.
X-Apparently-To: sendmegoodspam@yahoo.com via 206.190.39.128; Thu, 04 Nov 2004 21:41:41 -0800
X-Originating-IP: [195.188.213.8]
Return-Path: <webmaster@carbonize.co.uk>
Received: from 195.188.213.8 (EHLO smtp-out5.blueyonder.co.uk) (195.188.213.8) by mta134.mail.sc5.yahoo.com with SMTP; Thu, 04 Nov 2004 21:41:41 -0800
Received: from effing ([82.32.25.182]) by smtp-out5.blueyonder.co.uk with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.0.2195.6713); Thu, 4 Nov 2004 20:25:02 +0000
Message-ID: <000801c4c2ac$4ac870b0$b6192052@effing>
From: "Carbonize" <webmaster@carbonize.co.uk>
To: "sendmegoodspam" <sendmegoodspam@yahoo.com>
References: <20041104201744.78282.qmail@web51001.mail.yahoo.com>
Subject: Re: error on your chat client listing page
Date: Thu, 4 Nov 2004 20:24:31 -0000
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; format=flowed; charset="iso-8859-1"; reply-type=original
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2900.2180
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2900.2180
Return-Path: webmaster@carbonize.co.uk
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 04 Nov 2004 20:25:02.0369 (UTC) FILETIME=[5D007110:01C4C2AC]
Content-Length:	804

thats what I originally had until i received an email claiming 
otherwise and 
prvding a new link. Do you have the correct link ?


----- Original Message ----- 
From: "sendmegoodspam" <sendmegoodspam@yahoo.com>
To: <webmaster@carbonize.co.uk>
Sent: Thursday, November 04, 2004 8:17 PM
Subject: error on your chat client listing page


> Your chat client listing page has an error.
>
> http://www.carbonize.co.uk/Yahoo/clients.php
>
> It says "Magnesium by Jory Pratt" but this is not
> correct.  The correct author of the Magnesium is Alex
> Mercader, also known as the_cpu_fan.  I just think
> correct person should get the proper credit.
>
> __________________________________________________
> Do You Yahoo!?
> Tired of spam?  Yahoo! Mail has the best spam protection around
> http://mail.yahoo.com 
Hmm... Interesting... He confirms that it was orignially "Magnesium by the_cpu_fan" as I suspected. Apprantly someone emailed him to change that to "Magnesium by Jory Pratt". I emailed him back providing some information he can use to clear up this confusion.
Received: from [24.168.145.62] by web51007.mail.yahoo.com via HTTP; Wed, 10 Nov 2004 20:03:40 PST
Date: Wed, 10 Nov 2004 20:03:39 -0800 (PST)
From: "sendmegoodspam" <sendmegoodspam@yahoo.com>
Subject: Re: error on your chat client listing page
To: "Carbonize" <webmaster@carbonize.co.uk>
In-Reply-To: <000801c4c2ac$4ac870b0$b6192052@effing>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii
Content-Length: 747

I don't know the link to the chat client but I know
for fact Magnesium is not created by Jory Pratt.  It
was once called Curphoo X and it was indeed created by
Alex Mercader.  The AUTHORS file that comes with
Magnesium contains the following:

Alex Mercader <alex.mercader@iinet.net.au>
Mark <mark@gether.org.uk>
Mr. Feinberg

I guess you can ask Alex yourself and confirm who is
really the author of Magnesium.


--- Carbonize <webmaster@carbonize.co.uk> wrote:

> thats what I originally had until i received an
> email claiming otherwise and 
> prvding a new link. Do you have the correct link ?
> 
> 
> ----- Original Message ----- 
> From: "sendmegoodspam" <sendmegoodspam@yahoo.com>
> To: <webmaster@carbonize.co.uk>
> Sent: Thursday, November 04, 2004 8:17 PM
> Subject: error on your chat client listing page
> 
> 
> > Your chat client listing page has an error.
> >
> > http://www.carbonize.co.uk/Yahoo/clients.php
> >
> > It says "Magnesium by Jory Pratt" but this is not
> > correct.  The correct author of the Magnesium is
> Alex
> > Mercader, also known as the_cpu_fan.  I just think
> > correct person should get the proper credit.
> >
> > __________________________________________________
> > Do You Yahoo!?
> > Tired of spam?  Yahoo! Mail has the best spam
> protection around
> > http://mail.yahoo.com 
> 
> 



		
__________________________________ 
Do you Yahoo!? 
Check out the new Yahoo! Front Page. 
www.yahoo.com 
He replied back to me with this email revealing who requested the change.
X-Apparently-To: sendmegoodspam@yahoo.com via 206.190.38.133; Thu, 11 Nov 2004 05:13:19 -0800
X-Originating-IP: [195.188.213.8]
Return-Path: <webmaster@carbonize.co.uk>
Received: from 195.188.213.8 (EHLO smtp-out5.blueyonder.co.uk) (195.188.213.8) by mta179.mail.re2.yahoo.com with SMTP; Thu, 11 Nov 2004 05:13:19 -0800
Received: from effing ([82.32.25.182]) by smtp-out5.blueyonder.co.uk with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.0.2195.6713); Thu, 11 Nov 2004 08:59:32 +0000
Message-ID: <001401c4c7cc$a9e24290$b6192052@effing>
From: "Carbonize" <webmaster@carbonize.co.uk>
To: "sendmegoodspam" <sendmegoodspam@yahoo.com>
References: <20041111040339.65986.qmail@web51007.mail.yahoo.com>
Subject: Re: error on your chat client listing page
Date: Thu, 11 Nov 2004 08:58:50 -0000
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; format=flowed; charset="iso-8859-1"; reply-type=original
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2900.2180
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2900.2180
Return-Path: webmaster@carbonize.co.uk
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 11 Nov 2004 08:59:32.0671 (UTC) FILETIME=[C2AED4F0:01C4C7CC]
Content-Length:	1037

Hi,

I was actually emailed by Jory Pratt saying it was he that makes it 
and 
giving me the link I now use http://magnesium.kicks-ass.net/ 
Unfortunately 
that is th eonly link I can find to download the client from and if you 
look 
on 
http://ftp.belnet.be/linux/gentoo-portage/net-im/magnesium/magnesium-1.0.1c.ebuild 
it even says that url in the code. I will keep looking to see what I 
can 
find and I will possibly email Alex Mercader and Mark to see what i can 
find.

regards,
Carbonize

----- Original Message ----- 
From: "sendmegoodspam" <sendmegoodspam@yahoo.com>
To: "Carbonize" <webmaster@carbonize.co.uk>
Sent: Thursday, November 11, 2004 4:03 AM
Subject: Re: error on your chat client listing page


> I don't know the link to the chat client but I know
> for fact Magnesium is not created by Jory Pratt.  It
> was once called Curphoo X and it was indeed created by
> Alex Mercader.  The AUTHORS file that comes with
> Magnesium contains the following:
>
> Alex Mercader <alex.mercader@iinet.net.au>
> Mark <mark@gether.org.uk>
> Mr. Feinberg
>
> I guess you can ask Alex yourself and confirm who is
> really the author of Magnesium.
>
>
> --- Carbonize <webmaster@carbonize.co.uk> wrote:
>
>> thats what I originally had until i received an
>> email claiming otherwise and
>> prvding a new link. Do you have the correct link ?
>>
>>
>> ----- Original Message ----- 
>> From: "sendmegoodspam" <sendmegoodspam@yahoo.com>
>> To: <webmaster@carbonize.co.uk>
>> Sent: Thursday, November 04, 2004 8:17 PM
>> Subject: error on your chat client listing page
>>
>>
>> > Your chat client listing page has an error.
>> >
>> > http://www.carbonize.co.uk/Yahoo/clients.php
>> >
>> > It says "Magnesium by Jory Pratt" but this is not
>> > correct.  The correct author of the Magnesium is
>> Alex
>> > Mercader, also known as the_cpu_fan.  I just think
>> > correct person should get the proper credit.
>> >
>> > __________________________________________________
>> > Do You Yahoo!?
>> > Tired of spam?  Yahoo! Mail has the best spam
>> protection around
>> > http://mail.yahoo.com
>>
>>
>
>
>
>
> __________________________________
> Do you Yahoo!?
> Check out the new Yahoo! Front Page.
> www.yahoo.com
>
> 
The most damning sentence from that email is "I was actually emailed by Jory Pratt saying it was he that makes it and giving me the link I now use http://magnesium.kicks-ass.net/" There you have it. "Magnesium by the_cpu_fan" was changed to "Magnesium by Jory Pratt" at the request of Jory Pratt. This is yet another example of how this net.kook was once again trying to take credit for someone else's work.
Couple days later carbonize.co.uk webmaster changed the webpage to say "Magnesium maintained by Jory Pratt" and description to "Magnesium was originally written by Alex Mercader and is just Curphoo (which he also wrote) with a GTK gui. Can run on windows. It is now maintained by Jory Pratt."

Back